A Night out in a blizzard

This is not some story in which so many horrible things happened to me during the recent blizzard in NYC that I had to share it with people. Contrary to that this was a night to remember. I guess writing it up is my way of making sure that I can always have something remember it by.

It all began with a text from my good friend liberalcynic. It said–“BTW this friday or sat night—depending on Shashank’s availability—guys’ night out at Prakash’s place”. My reply was ‘yes’ as usual to a Manhattan outing. Not that we have nearly enough of those. Shashank bailed and it was just me and Bharat going to his cousin.

JoeysApartment1 foos

(Pic: Wikia)

First we got delayed due to my unyielding quest in research which ended for the day around 5 then we got delayed waiting for the Bus for an hour. Finally when we reached Prakash’s place the snowing had started to get a hold. We decided to go to a nearby bar for a drink or two. I would like to mention the bar by name but Prakash calls it ‘the bar with ‘Foosball table’. It charged some five quarter to play a game. A game was worth a number of goals that I don’t remember even after playing for an hour or so. I had never played on a foosball table before so I let Bharat play the first game. He lost miserably to Prakash. Now in the tradition of winner plays the next guy, I was to play against Prakash. All my desires to have that Joey and chandler kinda life with those recliner chairs and the foosball table came to life as soon as I took control of the bars. Prakash had two goals on me before I could say ‘foo’. This prompted Bharat to join my end to operate forward line. I guess it was like 15-20 dollars gone before we started winning. By the time we were done and ready to move on, it was pretty nasty outside like we were at pole or something.

Improvvisato...(Pic: nycgo.com)

Improvvisato…
(Pic: nycgo.com)

We started walking on E Houston street towards ‘Katz’. I usually don’t pay attention to where we are going but this time I did just so that I get these details right. To our demise it was closed and we, I mean Prakash and Bharat, decided to go to ‘DBGB’. Now we started running on the snowy sidewalk with I guess no visibility. Bharat and I were trying to keep up with Prakash. All of a sudden we stopped at a theater which I just looked it up to be ‘Sunshine Cinema’. Prakash saw ‘the Godfather’ for midnight show. We discussed it for like 30 seconds and we were buying tickets for the show. Probably everyone has watched ‘Godfather’ on TV, DVD or Netflix before they took it off streaming before I got to watch it. I did watch it later but how many people who are below 35 or something can say they watched it on the big screen. It was awesome, watching ‘The Godfather’ at a midnight show impromptu during a blizzard.

Pizza --fitting after Godfather.(Pic: Wikizip)

Pizza –fitting after Godfather.
(Pic: Wikizip)

We left theater still hungry and settled for a nice brick oven pizza at ‘Frankies’. That was all for the day as we packed it up. Next morning we went to our staple place for breakfast close to Prakash’s place–‘Clinton street baking Company & Restaurant’. Two hour wait meant no breakfast there. We started going to some place which I don’t remember now but we went to ‘Katz’ instead. We had an awesome lunch and this is where I would like to end this story.

Best sandwiches here!(Pic: Wikipedia)

Best sandwiches here!
(Pic: Wikipedia)

It was really a refreshing experience and to think that at one time while I was working in lab around 1 or so on Friday I thought of bailing and boy am I glad that I didn’t. Lastly I would like to thank both Prakash and Bharat for this weekend and this story.

Leave a comment